Spinlock buoyancy aid and Crewsaver splash top

All the gear…

I think it’s fair to say that was an unduly long pause.

For one big fat year now, I’ve been off the water, aside from dinghy sailing a couple of times with G. Moving out and pretending to be a grown up and M&D’s lives moving on resulted in the sale of our beloved Patience. She was snapped up, and is now cruising around the coast somewhere, exploring our wild coastline with a new family.

M&D are now buying a new boat – a lovely little Trusty called Oliette. This name is a mixture of my sister’s and my middle names – Charlotte and Olivia. Oliette is baby blue and 24 foot long – somewhat different from the 24-tonne, 50-foot Patience!!

And as for me? Marooned on land, and finally forced to put my words to action and save up for my own vessel. I’ll see you in 10 years on that one…

In the meantime…I can’t quite believe it myself, but gorgeous George and I are in the market for a boat! A National 12. There are several on the market, we’re both raring to go, but tempt fate I will not, so more on that later.

In the meantime, it’s my birthday very soon and so M&D treated me to some new gear for our new adventure! Dinghy means wet – something I’m not used to from the heights of an Aquastar 45!

They whisked me off to the Marine Super Store in Port Solent last weekend and we tried on countless waterproof goodies. Eventually emerging triumphant, we decided on a Spinlock buoyancy aid (nice and snug, extra pockets), a Crewsaver thermal splash top (which is the comfiest thing I think I’ll ever own), and a rash vest to keep me toasty. Spoilt! But never spoiled.

Alice Crick in a Crewsaver splash top

There are very exciting, very salty times ahead! Watch this space, and welcome back.

Love, Alice. x

 

2 thoughts on “All the gear…

Leave a Reply

